An idea

Based on recent conversations I’ve had with students, as well as comments and questions that get brought to gender and communication (com 398) I think there might be a valid need for a student club on campus just for women. A place where they can talk about women’s issues: work-related, relationship/friendship-related, self-esteem, body image, creating an identity, etc. Said group could incorporate movie and discussions, readings and discussions and group speakers. If you’re interested (we need about 13 to have a student group) leave a comment here saying so and indicating which time is better for you to meet:

Wednesday 2/27 at either 9:30 or 12:30

Thursday 2/28 at either 11 or 2:20

Get enough people interested and we can go from there.

7 Comments

Filed under Gender issues, work

7 responses to “An idea

  1. Solmarie S.

    Good idea! Gender & Comm. has helped me understand my boyfriend much more. I think every girl needs this, plus is always nice to get together with a group of people that have the same questions and interests as yourself.

  2. Krystin D.

    I think it’s a really good idea! It’s relieving to know that other peope are going through some of the same things I am.

  3. Miranda N

    Definately a good idea! I agree with Krystin

  4. Quinneka M.

    I agree with SOl, this is a good idea. I would prefer thursdays at 2.

  5. profsw

    So Quinneka is the only one who has a time preference? Just checking

  6. Miranda N

    I’m thinking more of Wednesdays at 12:30…please

  7. Christie

    I’m in Student Government so I can help with the club’s Constitution and getting us a budget for next year!

    Wednesdays at 12:30 works for me, too.

Leave a Reply

