Com 300 game

so if you’re playing the game and don’t get it, here’s what I sent to one student, hopefully this will help all of you:

Ok, I’m assuming you read what diffusion of innovation is (the links on the website) before you played the game. Did you? If not STOP PLAYING. Go read first.

An innovation is something new. Like back when the internet, or cell phones, were new, the companies had to get people to adopt their technology, get them to use it, want to use it (and then increases their sales)
In the game you are a change agent–that’s the person who gets you to adopt a new technology. For example, it was my uncle that convinced my parents to buy a computer and get online, so he was the change agent. In the game you want them to adopt/use “peer tutoring”. So you have to persuade the teachers to use this “new” thing.

Consider what you might run into if you tried to get someone (anyone) to do something new: they might adopt to it right away b/c they like being the person doing the new cool thing (early adopters) or they might hold off, wait til the new thing has been tried and tested and is going to be around (middle-late adopters) or they might be totally resistant and not want to do the new thing (or buy the new thing) at all.

So while you’re playing the game pay attention to what happens–can you convince people to adopt peer tutoring? What did you do (describe the process to me) Were you successful? Why or why not? Does the game accurate convey the diffusion process as described in the reading? How long did it take for you to get the teachers to adopt?

While your playing you can also think about how this might be used in “real life”. Every time you persuade someone to do something, you’re essentially persuading them to adopt that something: be it an idea, an object, a concept, etc. etc.

7 Comments

Filed under com 300 2008, homework

7 responses to “Com 300 game

  1. profsw

    A comment while I’m playing: I’m halfway through year one and haven’t got any adopters yet. Why? well I would guess I’m not going through the “right” pathways to get my message across (b/c every place has their own politics). So as a change agent I wasted some time figuring that out, and if I were being paid, time is money, so I’m not doing so hot.

  2. profsw

    Another note: First time through, took awhile but I got 14 adopters. Like I said, I took way too long figuring out the “who’s who” stuff. Then I had a workshop in June which apparently isn’t a good idea!! Only 4 people came!

  3. Christie W

    that helps! thank you =)

  4. profsw

    Ok, I just got 100% adoption, with 4 weeks to spare. I completely changed my strategy and it worked. So go for it!

  5. Matty K

    I just wanted to comment about the last two classes that we have had. I know that you like getting feedback from the students so I thought I’d let you know how I feel.
    I have really enjoyed the last two classes. We have taken notes for the first time in a long time. I learn better when we take notes. Discussions are good too but some time we get way off topic. With the notes and lectures we stay on topic and I learn better. I wonder how the rest of the class feels about the last two classes that we have had. I feel that they were very productive.

  6. profsw

    Well people not taking notes during class discussion might be an explanation for some of the midterms grades. Not everything that is important should be handed to people on the chalkboard. Some valuable things come out of discussion. A student’s goal should be to know how they learn best and work that into each teacher’s teaching style.

  7. Matty K

    That is true. I know that I like class discussions because my personality is a talkative own but I know I learn better with notes, so I like both. I’m glad you use both Sarah. It balances everyone out.

Leave a Reply

