Fake journalism gone too far?

The Onion seems to have gone a step too far in it’s “reporting,” causing police involvement. The reporting and tweets issued by the paper caused this statement

“It has come to our attention that recent twitter feeds are reporting false information concerning current conditions at the U.S. Capitol,” Sgt. Kimberly Schneider, a U.S. Capitol Police spokeswoman said in a statement, “Conditions at the U.S. Capitol are currently normal. There is no credibility to these stories or the twitter feeds. The U.S. Capitol Police are currently investigating the reporting.”

(Above quote taken from ABC news.)

After reading the issues for today, anyone have any thoughts?

2 Comments

Filed under COM 140

2 responses to “Fake journalism gone too far?

  1. Mike Annan

    Hi,

    First, I want to inform you that I won’t be coming into class tonight due to the combination of the flood watch, continuing rain and my long commute from Cornwall. I’ll catch up on what I need to know about the mid-term from other students during the week.

    Second, on the notion of the Onion taking the story too far. I get the feeling a lot that people really need to stop being so sensitive. I naturally look for humor in things. That’s how I keep positive and stay happy. It’s just the angle at which I view life most of the time so, of course, I support satire. It’s my opinion that people, in general, are too uptight and are offended too easily.

    Mike

  2. profsw

    Hi Mike! Thanks for letting me know! Check back here and you’ll see the midterm assignment get posted later tonight! Re: your comments on The Onion–Did you go to their facebook page? I did and the comments are pretty split. Some people agree with your and others are really upset.

Leave a Reply

